The JEE Alliance facilitates engagement between all relevant actors involved in the WHO’s assessment process that uses the Joint External Evaluation (JEE) tool, and links it with other assessment processes for health security. It promotes transparency in exchanging information on the results of assessments, in particular for donors interested in funding the development and strengthening of national level capacities and capabilities.

The JEE Alliance has four subgroups that focus on the following areas:
Advocacy and funding of external evaluations
Enhancing multisectoral collaboration
Financing of national action plans
Harnessing regional capacity

A multi-stakeholder Advisory Group supports the JEE Alliance. The Advisory Group has 20 representatives of constituencies drawn from the Members of the Alliance: 12 countries, two from each region; four non-governmental organizations and foundations; and four multilateral organizations as permanent members (FAO, OIE, WHO, World Bank). Finland and Australia serve as co-chairs of the Advisory Group until October 2018.

The JEE Alliance meets regularly.